Upscaled and Repurposed – Lamps by Ben Mills

Kirby Duel Sanitronic
While researching the vintage coffee pots I found Ben Mills selling on Etsy.

Upscaling and repurposing is the best thing about recycling! Taking a “throw away” and making it into a functional and beautiful household
accessory is what it’s all about. Create, reuse and recycle!

Here’s what Ben has to say about his art and himself – “I’m a carpenter by day and an artist, lamp and furniture maker in my spare time.

I started making lamps about 15 years ago when I trash picked an old blue tricycle missing its seat and a torchiere lamp missing it’s base. The tricycle became the base for the lamp, it was pretty crude, but it was a start. Since then I’ve made over 40 lamps out of everything from clothes irons to oscillating fans to jig saws.

All have been given as gifts, I only recently started (December 2010) to sell them on Etsy. I live just outside of Philadelphia with my wife and daughter.”

I just love the Kirby Duel Sanitronic stand up vacuum and that iron lamp
would be darling in an office! Wish we all could see that tricycle lamp.

Ben can be reached at AwesomeZone4000@gmail.com or through my Etsy store Awesomezone4000.

Sunbeam Mixmastercoffeematic

About ramonasvintageapplianceforum

junker, antique "wheeler dealer", vintage appliance lover View all posts by ramonasvintageapplianceforum

3 responses to “Upscaled and Repurposed – Lamps by Ben Mills

Leave a comment